Steering group

The programme is advised by an independent steering group of scientists and farmers from within and outside the organic movement. We want this group, chaired by Professor Charles Godfray, to challenge us from the outside. Their critical scrutiny will help us make sure that our approach is practical and that we are rigorous in evaluating its results.

The members, who take part in an individual capacity, are:

  • Minette Batters, Deputy President, National Farmers Union
  • Prof Tim Benton, UK Champion for Global Food Security and Professor of Population Ecology, University of Leeds
  • Stephen and Lyn Briggs, Director of Abacus organic associates, and farmer and organic inspector
  • Adrian Dolby, Farm Manager, Barrington Park Estate
  • Prof Maggie Gill, University of Aberdeen
  • Prof Charles Godfray (chair), Director, Oxford Martin Programme on the Future of Food
  • Prof Nic Lampkin, Executive Director, Organic Research Centre at Elm Farm
  • Prof Erik Millstone, SPRU (Science and Policy Research), University of Sussex
  • Dr Michel Pimbert, Director, Centre for Agroecology and Food Security, University of Coventry
  • Dr Duncan Pullar, Director, DairyCo
  • Prof Nigel Scollan, Waitrose Chair of Food and Farming, IBERS
  • Iain Tolhurst, Grower, Tolhurst Organic Produce
  • Prof Robert Watson, Chief Scientific Adviser, Defra


Supported by...

Duchy logo

Prince of Wales's Charitable Foundation

Organic Research Centre