Horticulture Standards Committee

The remit of the Horticulture Standards Committee is to develop and keep under review our horticulture standards and to deal with issues referred to the committee from licensees, Soil Association members, the public and Soil Association Certification Ltd. We aim to have a representative spread of appropriate expertise on the Committee together with consumer and public interest representatives.

Committee members as at January 2014:

  • Vacant: Chair
  • Jill Vaughan, Delfland Nurseries
  • Andy Mitchell, Marks and Spencer
  • Phil Morley, The Plant Science Consultancy
  • John Richards, Riverford Organic Farms
  • Jekka McVicar, Jekka’s Herb Farm
  • Roger Hitchings, Organic Research Centre (retired)
  • Adrian Izzard, Wild Country Organics
  • Chris Taylor, TC & N Taylor Ltd
  • Ric Bowers, Sunshine Organic Farms
  • Karen Shergold, Lay member
  • Margi Lennartsson, Garden Organic

The Committee met on 21 January 2014 to discuss the following issues:

  • Sustainable peat alternatives
  • Best practice in protected cropping
  • Supplementary nitrogen sources
  • Bio-pesticides
  • Defra guidance on transplants and vegetative propagating material

If you would like any information about the discussions of the Committee on these subjects, please contact Kathleen Robinson, Standards Project Manager at krobinson@soilassociation.org